Lectures

 

Digital Image Processing I

This lecture covers the basics and application of image acquisition and image processing including many examples illustrating the topics of the lecture.
Requirements for taking the lecture is a bachelor degree.

 

Digital Image Processing II

Based on “Digital Image Processing I” this lecture covers the advance topics like filtering, analysis and computer vision in theory and practice. Examples are given out of the fields of biomedical and industrial image processing.

 

Mathematical Methods for Electrical Engineering

Due to great processing power signal processing systems are more and more implemented in form of “digital” processes. Examples for this development are mobile phones, DVB, DVD, CD, MP3 and furthermore professional systems e.g. in the area of medical imaging. In addition to the basic lecture modules about analogous devices and networks this lecture gives insights to digital processes. Examples are implemented partially in MATLAB on standard PCs. The focus of this lecture lies on mathematical methods for the digital processing of audio, image and video signals.

The lecture is accompanied by an introduction to the programming language und development environment MATLAB. The content of the lecture is put into practice using  MATLAB.

 

Biomedical Imaging

This lecture covers methods, devices and the underlying physics of biomedical imaging techniques. Modalities discussed include planar X-ray imaging, computer tomography, ultrasound, magnetic resonance imaging, imaging in nuclear medicine (PET, SPECT), endoscopy and microscopy. In addition, the basics of multidimensional system theory and quality criteria of imaging, such as modulation transfer function (MTF), noise-equivalent quanta (NEQ) and detective quantum efficiency (DQE) will be addressed

Vorlesungen

 

Digitale Bildverarbeitung I

 Diese Vorlesung behandelt die Grundlagen und Anwendungen der Bildgebung und Bildverarbeitung, und veranschaulicht diese durch zahlreiche Beispiele. Vorausgesetzt wird ein abgeschlossenes Vorexamen in den Diplomstudiengängen Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik, Technische Informatik oder Informatik

 
Digitale Bildverarbeitung II

Aufbauend auf der Vorlesung „Digitale Bildverarbeitung I“ werden weitergehende Themen aus Bildfilterung, Bildanalyse und Computer Vision in Theorie und Anwendung behandelt und mit Anwendungsbeispielen aus biomedizinischen und industriellen Aufgabenstellungen vertieft.

 

Mathematische Methoden der Elektrotechnik

Durch Verfügbarkeit immer leistungsfähigerer Computer und Prozessorplattformen werden elektrotechnische Systeme zunehmend in Form „digitaler“ Verfahren realisiert. Beispiele sind Mobiltelefon, DVB, DVD, CD, MP3, aber auch professionelle Systeme z.B. der medizinischen Bildgebung. Diese Vorlesung ergänzt die Grundlagenmodule zu analogen Bauelementen und Netzwerken durch Inhalte zu digitalen Verfahren, die teils unter MATLAB auf Rechnern umgesetzt werden. Der Schwerpunkt liegt auf den mathematischen Methoden zur digitalen Verarbeitung von Audio-, Bild- und Videosignalen.

Begleitet wird die Vorlesung von einer Einführung in die Programmiersprache und Entwicklungsumgebung MATLAB, mit deren Hilfe die Vorlesungsinhalte rechnergestützt umgesetzt werden.

 

Biomedical Imaging

Diese (englischsprachige) Vorlesung befasst sich mit Methoden, Geräten und der zugrunde liegenden Physik der biomedizinischen Bildgebungstechniken. Die diskutierten Modalitäten umfassen planare Röntgenbildgebung, Computertomographie, Ultraschall, Kernspintomographie, Bildgebung in der Nuklearmedizin (PET, SPECT), Endoskopie und Mikroskopie. Darüber hinaus werden die Grundlagen der mehrdimensionalen Systemtheorie und Qualitätskriterien der Bildgebung, wie die Modulations-Transfer-Funktion (MTF), noise-equivalent quanta (NEM) und detective quantum efficiency(DQE) angesprochen.